Liberian journalist threatened for reporting on genital mutilation in Liberia

The approximate prevalence of Female Genital M...
The approximate prevalence of Female Genital Mutilation in Africa. Credit: Wikipedia.

“They left messages and told people to tell me that they will catch me and cut me so that will make me shut up,” Azango said. “I have not been sleeping in my house.”

“Mae Azango, a reporter for the daily FrontPage Africa and the news website New Narratives, told CPJ she had gone into hiding after receiving several threats for an article she published on Thursday about Liberian tribes practicing female genital mutilation on as many as two out of every three girls in the country.”

From CPJ – The Committee to Protect Journalists

3 thoughts on “Liberian journalist threatened for reporting on genital mutilation in Liberia

  1. I don’t suppose any girl ever forgets the time she first learned of this horrendous practice. Our U.S. birth control issue is simpler, yes, at least today; but how similar the thread upon which these questions lie.

Please leave a Reply